Recipe for a Colourful Smoothie

Header As well as being a passionate foodie and advocate for healthy living, I am also an artist. This means I love, like, really love, colour! Shades, hues, and tones are all awesome to me. (I actually own a book which consists solely of annotated swatch-like squares of colour…) A new series of paintings on which I’m currently working, involves a lot of ochre pigments, specifically yellow and golden. So, I think the fact that ochre is currently on my mind is perhaps why my mind gravitated towards creating this smoothie today as the finished drink gives a somewhat light ochre’y finish! I had it as part of my breakfast.

It goes lovely with a big bowl of muesli. The fact my muesli contains a variety of dried fruit – pineapple, papya, raisins, and banana – in combination with the ingredients of the smoothie resulted in a breakfast with a pretty tropical feel. Always good to brighten up an overcast Scottish morning!

Let’s push the grey clouds away with this sunny smoothie.

Photo

Photo

Photo

 

Here’s the recipe:

Mango-Coconut Smoothie                                                                                                  Photo

  • 1/2 a fresh mango
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1cm root ginger
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds

Put everything in a blender and whizz till smooth.

It’s so simple yet packed with goodness and super scrumptious and sweet.

If you like a thick smoothie, chill for a while before serving as the chia seeds and flaxseed will naturally thicken the smoothie.

P.S If you’d like to take a look at some of my art, you can find my art profiles on Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, and Twitter. The first painting from my new, aforementioned series will be revealed soon so keep checking back to those profiles, or give me a follow and you can find my art adding some creativity to your newsfeed!

Also, as usual, you can find me Tweeting, Facebooking, and Instagramming on behalf of this blog too. Links below:

// www.twitter.com/hldcblog

// www.facebook.com/hldcblog

// www.instagram.com/hcrinstacam


 Copyright©HLDCblog2015.
Leave a Reply

