My perfect light and fluffy pancake recipe

Header Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Ok, so I have made quite a lot of American-style pancakes in the past but each time I made them I used a recipe from cookery websites or bloggers. Since I have had my own blog I have been thinking I need to create my own healthy recipe for pancakes which I could share with you. This recipe was intended, originally, to merely be an experimental first attempt which would, hopefully, improve with trial and error. BUT, it actually proved to be a success the first time around with no altering needed! I think I’m going to have to give my genes some credit as my Scottish grandmother was apparently fantastic at making Scotch pancakes (a Scottish equivalent of American pancakes but smaller in size.) Hence, I’m thinking that I may have inherited some of her natural baking ability as she never used recipe books but cooked from scratch to great effect nonetheless.

I just love pancakes so I’m going to very much enjoy using this recipe a lot myself! Also, as a student, there was a cafe I used to frequent mainly for the fact they cooked the best pancakes in town. (Those who have studied at The University of St Andrews like me will know the one to which I’m referring!) Now that I have mastered how to make my own pancakes I don’t have to leave the comfort of my home to enjoy a lovely plate of pancakes!!

One last thing, before I get to the recipe, I know that this blog is focussed on healthy eating and inspiring healthy living and pancakes are not traditionally seen as very healthy at all, everyone needs a treat every so often. These pancakes are also a reasonably healthy recipe without things such as melted butter, oil, lots of refined white sugar etc. They are sweetened minimally with maple syrup, a healthy natural low-sugar content sweetener.

Right, without anymore delay – here is the recipe!

Photo

Perfect pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (add more if you’d like them sweeter)
  • 1 egg

Method:

1. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl

2. Beat the egg and combine with the liquid ingredients

3. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine. Do not over mix, you do not want an entirely smooth batter, but a thick, slightly lumpy one.

4. Heat a pan and add a small amount of healthy cooking oil (such as coconut) or low-fat unsalted butter.

5. Add some batter (about a quarter cup per pancake) and cook the pancakes, turning each once when bubbles form on the top.

Photo

Photo

TIP: The first pancake is often a write off, but don’t be disheartened by this. It is just because the oil is awkward the first time around heat-wise, if that makes any sense at all?! You should see what I mean, though.

NOTE: The cooked pancakes should be evenly browned on both sides and cooked through.

7. Serve and enjoy!

Serving idea (more serving suggestions below):

Photo

Photo

More serving ideas:

  • Sliced bananas and Greek yoghurt
  • Strawberries, Sliced Kiwis and maple syrup
  • Fruits of the forest
  • Homemade blueberry sauce
  • Frozen yoghurt and flaked almonds
  • Melted high cocoa content dark chocolate and strawberries

Hope you enjoy the pancakes as much as I do!

Helen x

For more recipes, food pics, and meal ideas, follow the blog on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest 🙂


Copyright©HLDCblog2015

 

Leave a Reply

