Traditional British Christmas Dinner

Header

 One of my favourite meals of the year is always Christmas Dinner. In the UK it is traditionally eaten at midday but my family always has it in the evening for evening meal. Because I have readers from around the world I thought I would share what I had for Christmas Dinner. Everyone knows how much I love food so by writing this blog post I can re-envisage the delicious meal all over again! Although this is a mainly a blog with the aim of inspiring healthy eating, variety and balance is key, and I do not only eat healthily but indulge in plenty of treats now and again. Some of the components of Christmas dinner provide example of that but at all times of the year I have about an 80:20 (healthy: not-so-healthy) diet. Now, with that qualification out of the way, let’s get to the good stuff – foodie goodness! First of all, here’s a picture of the dinner I had on Christmas Day itself.

Christmas dinner photoTurkey

Slices of lovely delicious turkey crown


Pigs in blankets

My favourite part of the dinner – pork chipolata sausages wrapped in slice of smoked bacon. So. Good.


Roast potatoes

Crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside.


Bread sauce

A seasoned, thick and creamy sauce made from breadcrumbs.


Cranberry sauce

A lovely, rich, sweet sauce. The perfect complement to roast turkey breast.


Stuffing

Can come seasoned in a variety of ways. We had stuffing made with sage and onion. It is traditionally used to ‘stuff’ the turkey but we had ours baked separately.


Roast vegetables

A selection of sweet potato, swede, baby carrots and parsnips. The vegetables we had were  infused with honey and clementine juice – perfect.


Brussel sprouts

People either love these or hate them. I love them! They must be very fresh and not-cooked too long for maximum ‘sprouty’ goodness!


Gravy

Gravy is also popular but we did not have any. The bread sauce and cranberry sauce were enough.


I’d love to see what Christmas dinner is like around the world so Tweet me a pic (@hldcblog) if you’d like to share 🙂

Hope you had a great Christmas,

Helen x

P.S You can also find me on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and PinInterest.

Leave a Reply

