Satisfying Starters 1: Prosciutto and Melon Salad

Header

I have recently been having lots of cravings for prosciutto. It must be something to do with this time of year, as I remember this time last year, I bought a huge Continental meats festive platter, crackers and melon to have as a late night study snack after spending all of daylight hours in the library and much evening hours working on my dissertation! The platter was clearly put together with the intention that it would form some of the food at a Christmas party but I had it all myself. Greedy, I know… Anyway, back to the present [clearly I can’t get Christmas off my mind…] I whipped up this salad to serve as a not-too-filling starter earlier this week but, equally, it could be served as a light lunch. Or with some rustic bread, or a bowl of soup, for a more substantial lunch. The saltiness of the prosciutto is nicely contrasted with the refreshing iceberg lettuce and sweetness of the melon.


 Prosciutto and melon salad

Starter

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 1/4 to 1/2 melon (depending on size) cut into chunks (honeydew and cantaloupe works well)
  • 2 handfuls of shredded iceberg lettuce
  • 6 slices of prosciutto (I used prosciutto de Parma i.e. Parma ham)
  • Balsamic glaze
  • Optional: Bread, to serve Scatter one handful of the lettuce on each plate.

Method:

  1. Arrange half of the melon on top of each the lettuce on each plate.
  2. Create ‘prosciutto roses’ by rolling the prosciutto up while pinching the middle section, until it resembles a rose. I hope that makes some sense but it is difficult to explain. Here is a picture to try to illustrate my point: Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 21.56.59
  3. Place 3 roses on top of each salad.
  4. Finally, drizzle with balsamic glaze.
  5. Serve on its own or with fresh rustic bread or baguette, if desired.

Enjoy!

For more healthy recipes, tips, and foodie goodness, you can follow the blog on Twitter, Facebook, PinInterest and Instagram.

Helen x


Copyright ©Hldcblog 2014

Leave a Reply

