Winter-spiced Avocado

This week has been a big week for me, regarding food, that is, as I tried avocado for the first time. A big deal, right?! But seriously, avocados are really popular amongst fellow food bloggers, advocates of healthy lifestyles and generally in cafe menus etc. Why is this? One reason is their ‘superfood’ status as they contain a remarkable multiplicity of nutrients and vitamins. Another is that they are incredible versatile, they can be used in both sweet and savoury dishes, as an part of a dish, or simply eaten on there own. So, why was it only this week I tried one? Well, my first statement was not wholly true. This week was the first time I tried one as an adult but I did actually try one years ago as a small child and clearly, back then, I was not enamoured with them in the slightest.  They were obscurely odd in texture and shape, and unlike anything else. Now, however, my opinion of them has u-turned and I think they’re wonderful and can understand why every store in the UK now stocks them year round!

This quick, simple to prepare little snack is how I served the first avocado I ate this week. Don’t really know where the idea came from but as it’s ‘pumpkin spice’ season now that we’re in October and I was feeling in a sweet-rather-than-savoury mood, I came up with this. It’s ridiculously simple and straightforward so makes a great snack at any time of the day. A great accompaniment to breakfast or brunch too!


Winter-spiced Avocado

10703550_780940751952307_3554747579763151434_n

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg
  • Pinch of ground ginger
  • 1 tsp – 1/2 tbsp maple syrup (depending how large the avocado is / how sweet you’d like it)

Method:

  1. Pour the maple syrup into the recess where the stone of the avocado was.
  2. Add the spices to the maple syrup and stir them together.
  3. Top with the Greek yoghurt and dust with cinnamon to finish.

    Hope you enjoy this and remember you can check me out on my Instagram @hcrinstacam and on Twitter @hldcblog!
    Helen x

One thought on “Winter-spiced Avocado

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Healthy Foods to Snack On | Helen's healthy living dream cuisine

Leave a Reply

