Nutmeg and orange at mugcake

So for my second post I thought I’d share something brand new. I fancied a mugcake for breakfast this morning – yes a CAKE (don’t worry it’s healthy!) – and was also feeling in an experimental mood which resulted in me making this new version of an oat-based mugcake.

Oat-based mugcakes in general are not a new concept (Google and see) but this recipe was made entirely on-the-spot and I think it worked well! With oats, an egg and fruit juice, this has an ideal combination of nutrients to start your day the best way.

Also, it’s really, really quick and easy to make and is cooked in a microwave (no messy pans to wash – yay!) Just to warn you all, though, this mugcake is not like a conventional cake, not the same texture etc, but it is certainly tasty and as this blog is all about being healthy, it is exactly that – healthy!! As well as for breakfast, this works well as a snack, post work-out energy rejuvenator or dessert. Try it and see what you think!



Recipe: Nutmeg and orange oat mugcake 

Image

  • 1/3 cup oats (microwavable or ordinary)
  • 1 small egg
  • 3tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 1tbsp maple syrup
  • 1tbsp water
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (or a 1/4 if you’re not as big a fan of nutmeg as I am!)

Method:

Mix all ingredients in a microwave-safe bowl (I use a cereal bowl). Cook for 1 min 30 secs in a 800W microwave. Leave to stand in the microwave for about 30secs and be very careful when lifting as the bowl will be hot. To serve either eat it out of the bowl or flip it out onto a plate as I have done in the above picture. Either way, it’s nice served with fresh natural yoghurt or Greek yoghurt and sliced banana.

Other topping ideas:

  • Other fruit e.g. Orange  segments
  • Frozen yoghurt
  • Melted high cocoa dark chocolate

Variances:

  • Add some dark chocolate chips to the mixture for a chocolate version
  • Use a different juice e.g. apple juice

Enjoy!

P.S. if you try this out, I’d love to see how it turns out so feel free to Tweet me a pic or show me via Instagram using the hashtag #hldcblog or tag me, @HCRinstacam.


 

 

Leave a Reply

