First post!

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 16.10.20

 

Ok, so I think I’m just going to jump right in and start sharing my passion for healthy food! I’ll leave telling you a bit about myself until future posts but for now, here is a recipe for a quick and simple breakfast dish. I first made this a few years ago and recently rediscovered it. It’s a great choice for breakfast at any time of year but I think it’s particularly refreshing on a warm summer morning!


Apple-oats

 Apple-oats


Recipe: 

  • 1 apple (grated)
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup milk (add more or less depending on how thick you want it)

Optional:

  • Maple syrup or honey
  • Cinnamon
  • Chopped nuts (e.g. hazelnuts) or desiccated coconut (I just LOVE coconut!)

Method: Soak the oats in the milk for a few minutes to allow the oats to soften and thicken the milk. After that stir in the grated apple. (I like pink lady apples as I find them lovely and crisp with a delicate sweet flavour.) If you prepare in advance, the night before works well, then mix all ingredients together and chill in the fridge overnight. But, equally,  if you’re in a hurry then it works fine to mix all the ingredients and eat straight away. The oats will be drier but it still makes for a nutritious and healthy breakfast with vitamins and slow-release energy – what’s not to like?! Add any of the optional ingredients at any stage.

Variances: Instead of an apple a chopped pear works well too. If using a pear I find pecans go particularly well with it and adds some crunch to contrast with the soft pear.

Tips: 

  • If using honey then for extra quickness, use a squeezy bottle of honey rather than a jar.
  • When I make this with pears I find conference pears work particularly well.

Hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “First post!

  1. Pingback: 5 Guilt-free Sweet Snacks | Helen's healthy living dream cuisine

  2. Pingback: 5 Guilt-free Sweet Snacks | Helen's healthy living dream cuisine

Leave a Reply

